aMule non starter on MacOS Mojave

Your computer feeling a lot slower lately? That new program you installed not working? Can't convert a specific file? Looking to buy a new hard drive or dvd writer? Would like some recommendations? Firewalls, latest threats and general P2P security issues are here also.
Post Reply
soundog
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:32 am
Has thanked: 7 times

aMule non starter on MacOS Mojave

Post by soundog » Sun Nov 04, 2018 10:06 pm

I have been quite happily using aMule for many years now, updated the OS to MacOS Mojave a few weeks ago, and today I received a pop up saying that

'aMule is not optimised for this Mac'

now when I click on the docked icon it bounces for a few and then just stops. I was wondering if anyone has any insight, or ideas how to remedy the situation? cheers in advance

User avatar
raffe
Donator
Donator
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:47 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: aMule non starter on MacOS Mojave

Post by raffe » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:40 pm

The warning only means that aMule is running as a 32bit app, and Mac like 64bit (see here: http://www.computerworld.com/article/3 ... ssage.html )

But, about it not starting, according to http://www.techradar.com/how-to/macos- ... o-fix-them "If your software is very outdated, it may no longer be compatible with macOS Mojave". So, for free choices, maybe you could ask for help at http://forum.amule.org/ or try an other app (like http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... m.php?f=15 ) or try to start aMule or eMule (http://www.emule-project.net ) on a virtual machine (like http://www.virtualbox.org/ ) with Windows (maybe one from here viewforum.php?f=20 ).

I don't use Mac, so maybe you get better answers from somebody else :-)

soundog
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:32 am
Has thanked: 7 times

Re: aMule non starter on MacOS Mojave

Post by soundog » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:42 pm

thanks very much for the assist... I'm looking into alternatives at the moment.. used Time machine to go back 3 days to when I last used aMule (and it booted successfully) and bizarrely it opened first time. was informed that I might need to delete aMules cache.. but that answer was left somewhat ambiguous so I'm looking into that to, just if it ever happens again

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Support & Discussion”